Notifications: common issues

Various actions and processes within LMS365 (Learn365) trigger notifications to be sent to users (including learners, instructors, and admins). In some cases, the notifications flow may be affected by various settings and customizations. This article describes the most common issues regarding notifications.

 

In this article

 

Users haven't received the Enrollment Confirmation notification

Description: A course or training plan has a future start date and is scheduled to be published. Users enrolled in the scheduled course or training plan won't receive the Enrollment Confirmation notification because the training isn't published yet. Instead, they'll receive the Course/Training Plan has started notification on the scheduled publish date, or when a course or catalog admin publishes the training manually.

If users enroll in the course or training plan after it's published, they'll receive the Enrollment Confirmation notification, in line with the main flow.

 

Users find themselves registered for a session in a single-session course.

Description: When a course or catalog admin manually enrolls a user in a course that has the Enroll user into a single course session enrollment type, both the user and their line manager (if set) will receive a Course Session Selection Request notification. From this notification, both the user and the line manager can follow the link and register for a session.

There's a workaround for line managers to select a session on behalf of enrolled users.

 

session selection email

 

Catalog admins can edit the Course Session Selection Request notification template to change the default recipients. If the catalog admin deletes the user (Learner) from the To field, only the line manager will receive the notification and be able to control subordinate enrollment in courses with the Enroll user into a single course session enrollment type.

The consequences of editing a template and therefore making it customized are described in this article.

 

Users haven't received a Certificate Expiry Reminder notification for imported training

Description: External training records that have certificates attached can be imported into LMS365 (Learn365). Certificate- and skill-related email notifications can be disabled via the Send for inactive training option in the notification template. If this option is disabled, users who are enrolled in this training won't receive these email notifications (including the Certificate Expiry Reminder email notification).

To ensure users are notified when their certificates for imported external training are about to expire, ensure that:

  1. The Certificate Expiry Reminder template is enabled.
  2. The Send for inactive training option is toggled On in the Certificate Expiry Reminder notification template.

In this case, the user will be notified when their certificates for imported external training are about to expire, in accordance with the Send Reminder Emails settings.

 

NOTE   

When the Send for inactive training option is toggled On, this also enables notifications for all unpublished, ended, and deleted courses.

 

Users removed from the catalog still receive a Certificate Expiry Reminder notification

Description: A user completed a course or a training plan and was awarded a certificate for doing so. The user was then removed from the catalog, but they still receive Certificate Expiry Reminder email notifications for the valid certificates awarded from this catalog.

Reason: Users who are are removed from a catalog become inactive, are unenrolled from all courses and training plans in the catalog, and are removed from the Users list, but their training progress records, awarded skills and certificates, and records of actions remain in LMS365 (Learn365) until purged. Inactive users will continue to receive notifications related to their certificates and skills.

Solution: If you don't want users who have been removed from a catalog to receive notifications for certificates awarded for courses and training plans in the catalog, you should use one of the following methods:

  • Disable the expiry date option of the relevant valid certificate.
  • Manually delete the user's valid certificate that has an expiry date before you remove that user from the catalog.
  • Purge the records of the user in question.

 

Method 1: Disable the expiry date option of the relevant valid certificate.

NOTE   

This will turn off the certificate expiry option for all expired, expiring, valid, and planned certificates awarded for this training for all users who have ever been enrolled in this training. This action also influences the retake option of this training.

Go to the Learn365 Admin Center > Training Management page > select the training for which the certificate is awarded > from the training management panel, choose Manage Course/Training Plan Settings to go to the Settings section of the training configuration panel > toggle off the Certificate Expiry option.

 

certificate expiry off

 

Method 2: Manually delete the user's valid certificate that has an expiry date before you remove that user from the catalog.

NOTE   

It isn't possible to undo the deletion of a certificate, but users can be awarded a new version of the certificate.

To see a user's valid certificates, go to the Learn365 Admin Center > Users page> select the required user to open the User(s) panel > View Learner's Progress > select View Certificate (the eye icon) next to the training to open related certificates and see if they have an expiry date.

Certificates without an expiry date, and certificates that are already expired, don't trigger certificate expiry notifications so there's no need to delete these.

If an expiry date is set for a valid certificate, delete this certificate by selecting the red cross icon next to it. Confirm the deletion by selecting OK. The selected certificate will be deleted, and the user won't receive any more expiry notifications for this certificate.

 

delete expired skill

 

Method 3: Purge the records of the user in question.

LMS365 (Learn365) includes the option to purge all records of the selected user from a course catalog. Purging all records of a user removes all their information and records of actions from the course catalog, meaning this data is no longer stored in the course catalog. Once purged, the user won't receive any further notifications relating to this catalog.

 

Unexpected users in the Cc field of the Instructor-Led Training Scheduled – Appointment Invite notification

Description: Users might notice unexpected recipients in the Cc field of a notification. Generally, this will happen in the Instructor-Led Training Scheduled – Appointment Invite notification. For information about the events that trigger the Instructor-Led Training Scheduled – Appointment Invite notification, see this article.

Unexpected recipients might be displayed in the Cc field because an original recipient of the invitation has forwarded the appointment invite notification to another person, and that person has accepted it from within the forwarded message. This behavior is out of the control of LMS365 (Learn365) because Outlook appointments can be influenced by the actions of recipients.

 

Users think they're receiving duplicate appointment invitations

Description: Any changes that are made to a session's location, start and end dates and time, time zone, meeting URL, or the training title will cause an updated appointment invitation to be sent in the following ways:

  • The Instructor-Led Training Scheduled – Appointment Invite is sent again with the updated information via email.
  • The Session Updated (only for Mobile App) notification is sent to learners via the Learn365 mobile app.

 

Updated course invitation email

 

For more information on this scenario, see this article.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.